VIDYA BHAWAN BALIKA VIDYAPITH SHAKTI UTTHAN ASHRAM LAKHISARAI CLASS 9th SUBJECT GEOGRAPHY DATE 15.5.2021.

Ch: PHYSICAL FEATURES Of INDIA (Notes)

READ THE FOLLOWING PARAGRAPH AND TRY TO UNDERSTAND.

The Himalayas have also been divided on the basis of regions from west to east.

- 1. The part of Himalayas lying between Indus and Satluj has been traditionally known as Punjab Himalaya but it is also known regionally as Kashmir and Himachal Himalaya from west to east, respectively.
- 2. The part of the Himalayas lying between Satluj and Kali rivers is known as Kumauni Himalayas.
- 3. The Kali and Teesta rivers divide the Nepal Himalayas and the part lying between Teesta and Dihang rivers is known as Assam Himalayas.
- 4. The Brahmaputra marks the eastern-most boundary of the Himalayas.
- 5. Beyond the Dihang gorge, the Himalayas bend sharply to the south and spread along the eastern boundary of India, which is known as the Purvachal or the Eastern hills and mountains. The Purvachal comprises the Patkai hills, the Naga hills, the Manipur hills and the Mizo hills.

The Northern Plain

The northern plain has been formed by the interplay of the 3 major river systems – the Indus, the Ganga and the Brahmaputra along with their tributaries. It spreads over an area of 7 lakh sq. km.

The Northern Plain is broadly divided into 3 sections as mentioned below:

- 1. The Western part of the Northern Plain is referred to as the Punjab Plains. This plain is formed by the Indus and its tributaries the Jhelum, the Chenab, the Ravi, the Beas and the Satluj.
- 2. The Ganga plain extends between Ghaggar and Teesta rivers. It is spread over the states of North India, Haryana, Delhi, U.P., Bihar, partly Jharkhand and West Bengal.
- 3. Brahmaputra plain lies in the state of Assam.

SUBJECT TEACHER MUKESH KUMAR